“I Made HALF Of It Myself”

Every seamstress knows that feeling of satisfaction she gets when someone compliments on what she is wearing and with great pride she can blurt out “I made it myself.” 

On a recent shopping trip I found this cute little number: 

It was reasonably priced and I knew it would fit without trying it on.  However, I’m quiet old fashioned and it proved to be too short to my liking.  My dresses/skirts have to be at least below the knee or longer.  However, I really liked the dress.

So I took two yards of black fabric which matched the original skirt in feel as well as color.  Then I proceeded to detach the bodice from the skirt.  

Now it was just a matter of making a new skirt – straight stitch and overlock on my serger.  Attach the bodice to the skirt and hem it.  Oh, a ball point needle is always a blessing with this kind of soft knit with a touch of spandex.  

  

Now it is perfect for me.

  Oh, the rewards of sewing!

Comments

  1. I don’t know what I like better when I make the whole thing or I do a remodel job, I guess either way it’s very satisfying saying yep I made it. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

