In Memorium – Carmella Helen DeCarlo

                                   
                                      
                                                        My Mother – My Best Friend
 
          Describing watching my mother die as being a painful and traumatic experience is definitely an understatement.
 
          She was so sick this past year that it should not have been such a shock when she passed but I do not think one is ever truly prepared for it. She suffered so much that I would ask God every night that if He was going to take her, to please do it soon to end her suffering.   Also, I asked Him for something else, to please let me be there when her soul took flight so she would not be alone.
 
          On May 30, 2012, I was on the couch next her hospital bed we had brought into my home for her. I fell asleep, woke up, looked at the clock and it said 1:28 a.m. I went over to her, took her hand and maybe not a minute or two later as I stood there telling her how much I loved her, she took her last breathe. Some would call that a coincidence but not me. Someone or something woke me just before she died so I could be right there. God gave me, and her, what we wanted – for mom to stop suffering. He granted my request to be with her when her soul departed. Yet, I still feel so miserable.
 
          Mom was the most loving, caring and unselfish person I knew.   My “go to” person. You could trust her 100% to be there for you and she always put others before herself. That was one of her “faults.” She was just too nice if there is such a thing.
 
          I can remember being a teenager going to shop for clothes or just going to a movie, we would just laugh at the silliest things. I am so grateful we spent so much time together. I knew then and now even more how lucky I was to have such a mom.
 
          She was my best friend and there is a hole in my heart and a void in my life that is crushing to my spirit. This is the downside of having such a wonderful person in your life that you love so much. When they leave, it just makes it even more unbearable.
 
          Nothing will ever be the same.
 
          Thank you, God, for the time I had with such a person – my mother.
 
         And thank you, Mom, for being there for me – always.  I miss you so much.
 
         I love you.

Leave a Reply

